(603)740-0822 [email protected]

January Athlete of the Month Amelie Choquette

January Athlete of the Month: Amelie Choquette

How and when did you discover CrossFit?
My mom introduced me to CrossFit 5 years ago when she got her L1 cert. I had done dance through high school and when I went to University, I struggled to find a workout that would push me. I came home one summer and started working out with my mom and I loved it! I decided to join EverProven over 2 years ago and it’s been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!
How has CrossFit affected you since you started?
CrossFit has been such a great thing for me. I joined EverProven without knowing anyone and it seemed like the scariest thing at the time. I have made so many great friends here and it has really helped me come out of my shell. I’ve also noticed such a positive impact on my mental health. It’s a great way to disconnect and relieve stress. It helped me to just go to the gym and move after my surgery even if I couldn’t do all the movements. Shoutout to the coaches for helping me modify the workouts!
What class do you normally attend?
I’m normally at the 5:15 pm… but I’ve (reluctantly) been making some appearances at the 5:30 am lately. I like to sleep too much to make it a regular thing.
What are your short and long term goals?
Short term I would just like to get back to where I was pre-surgery. I know I have to be patient but I would like to work at being able to jump, run, or even lunge. I can’t wait to be able to do double-unders again! Long term I would really like to work on my strength so I can do the performance level weight more consistently.
What’s your favorite WOD/movement?
Anything gymnastics! I think handstands are so fun and anything from the rig. I also got my first bar muscle-up this month which was one of my major goals for the year 😊Hopefully I can get a ring muscle-up soon!
What’s your LEAST favorite WOD/movement?
Wall balls…. or the bike 🤮 I avoid the bike at all costs
What is one interesting fact many people don’t know about you?
I was born in Montreal and moved here when I was 6. French is my first language and I learned English by being put into elementary school right after moving. This year has been really hard since I haven’t been able to visit my family in Canada and I’m really looking forward to seeing them, hopefully sometime soon
.

Ready to Get Started??

Schedule an introductory session and give us the chance to tell you how we can help you get started on the path to health, fitness, community, and happiness 🙂